Life in Seussey Second

Soaring to greatness by thinking great thinks!

Do you have what it takes to be a Poetic Ninja?!

April1

April is National Poetry Month!  National Poetry Month is the largest literary celebration in the world.  It was created to raise awareness and increase appreciation for poetry in the United States. The Academy of American Poets started this in 1996 after they were inspired by the successful celebrations of Black History Month (February) and Women’s History Month (March).  The most amazing thing about poetry is being able to play around with language and the rules of writing.  There are so many different types, forms, and ways to construct a poem.  Check out this video about what a poem is…

To celebrate National Poetry Month, each day of April there will be a new poem to read or listen to on our blog!  By the end of the month that means you will have read or heard 30 different poems! Soooo why not make this a game.  Let’s gamify poetry….what does that mean you ask?

Your Poetic Mission

(should you choose to accept it) 🙂
Below you will find the missions you can accomplish daily with each poem that is posted.  Except for the Poetic Padlet Mission, you will want to type your mission(s) in the comment section of the daily blog post.  Do as many or as few as you like.  For each mission accomplished, points will be awarded and posted on our leader board.  Throughout the month as you achieve point values, you can collect your prize.  Points will continue to add up throughout the month to help you on your way to becoming a Poetic Ninja.  Who in our class has what it takes to earn Poetic Ninja Status?!
Poetic Missions
Poetic Prizes

Are you ready?! Here we go!!!

Poetry Quest: Poem #1

Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me Too by: Shel Silverstein

53 Comments to

“Do you have what it takes to be a Poetic Ninja?!”

  1. April 1st, 2016 at 8:42 am      Reply Eli McGinnis Says:

    I liked how the poem rhymed because it sounds more fluent.


    • April 1st, 2016 at 10:50 am      Reply Lucy Says:

      I think the poem means you could do rithem and riem in your poem.
      I agre with you Eli because it does sound more fluent. I think the topic is about ickleing, tickleing , and pickleing. I think the author is t ring to entertan me by maching the words together.


    • April 1st, 2016 at 11:46 am      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Eli, I would agree when a poet chooses to rhyme it makes the writing flow in such a lovely way. Congrats you have earned 1 point PLUS 5 BONUS POINTS for being the first Seussville citizen to respond! I wonder if other bonus points will show up this month?!


    • April 1st, 2016 at 11:58 am      Reply Tessa Arnott Says:

      Eli, I liked the rhyming too. It does make it sound fluent. Why do you think they kept repeating Ickle Me Tickle Me Tickle me Too?


    • April 1st, 2016 at 4:58 pm      Reply Olivia Says:

      I agree Eli, I agree that it rhymes!


    • April 2nd, 2016 at 6:24 pm      Reply Tessa Arnott Says:

      Eli, Did you like the poem from the Kid President today? It had rhyming.


    • April 3rd, 2016 at 8:42 am      Reply Sophia Says:

      I think that hi my name is acre like yeah I should’ve put it in my comment.


    • April 3rd, 2016 at 6:56 pm      Reply Sophia Says:

      Sorry Eli I meant to say I should have also put rythm and rhyme in my comment. Rythm and Rhine takes place in a poem a lot.


  2. April 1st, 2016 at 10:29 am      Reply Lucy Says:

    I liked that when it said ickle me pickle me tickle me too.


  3. April 1st, 2016 at 11:24 am      Reply Neetika Jain Says:

    It had rhyming,syllables,and swaying music.


    • April 1st, 2016 at 11:50 am      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Neetika, yes it did! You are very observant. Which poetic mission were you trying to complete? Try rereading the missions and see if there is something you can add to your reflection. This way you can be added to the leader board!


    • April 1st, 2016 at 11:56 am      Reply Tessa Arnott Says:

      Yes, Neetika. I like the rhyming and swaying music too. Why do you think he used the music and rhyming in his poem? I think he did it because the beat and rhymes kept me interested.


  4. April 1st, 2016 at 11:54 am      Reply Tessa Arnott Says:

    1. Poetry Feeings- I liked Ickle Me, Pickle Me Tickle me Too because it rhymes and I like poetry that rhymes. I also like the poem because it reminds me of a song and I love songs! I like how it keeps repeating Ickle Me Pickle Me Tickle Me too.

    2. Poetic Meaning- The meaning of this poem is to tell the a story about two guys going on a ride in a shoe. They go way up in the air and no one knows where they are now.

    6. Poetic Purpose- Shel Silverstein wrote this poem to entertain. That means that he wrote it to tell and story and make kids reading it enjoy it. It was a good story and it made me curious about what was going to happen to the characters. I wanted to know why they were in a shoe and where they were flying to.


    • April 1st, 2016 at 12:00 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Tessa, I love that you organized your missions and labeled them with the point totals! I especially love your poetic purpose reflection. You put a lot of thought and detail into your response. I agree with you that this was an entertaining poem. It was one of Mr. Pitzer’s favorite poems growing up. You have earned 9 points PLUS 1 BONUS point for your organizational skills. This puts you in 2nd place!


    • April 1st, 2016 at 2:05 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      WHOA Tessa, 2 responses to your peers = 3 points + 1 for more than one peer reflection AND a publication on Padlet = 5 points. That means you take the lead with 19 points!


  5. April 1st, 2016 at 1:00 pm      Reply Neetika Jain Says:

    Poetic feelings:I like music and I love rhymes.
    Poetic purpose: I think Shel Silverstein is entertaining me.


    • April 1st, 2016 at 2:06 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      I love that you labeled your missions. For your poetic purpose to get your the full points, what from the poem tells you Shel Silverstein is entertaining his readers?


  6. April 1st, 2016 at 4:44 pm      Reply Olivia Says:

    I liked the poem because it has rhyming words. I also like that the
    author wrote this poem to entertain me because it is funny and it is kind of a tongue twister. I think is trying to inform me because it describes how to write a poem. I think it is trying to persuade me to write my own poem. I think poems are cool, awesome and the best!


    • April 6th, 2016 at 10:12 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Olivia, I absolutely love that you shared how the author achieved all of 3 purposes. It also proves our point we discussed in class that author’s can have more than one purpose.


  7. April 1st, 2016 at 4:45 pm      Reply Neetika Jain Says:

    Poetic meaning: It’s about three people in a flying shoe. At the end, the three people flew off earth and no one ever knew where they people went.

    Poetic feelings: What I liked about”Ikle me,pickle me,tickle me too” is that it has swaying music, rhyming words and rhythm. I like musical poems. What I disliked is the end. It was sad that the people went off earth and not been seen again.

    Poetic writing: There was a old woman who lived in a shoe.
    She had so many children
    She didn’t know what to do.
    She gave them some bread without
    any milk and kissed them to bed
    the old woman in the shoe.

    Poetic purpose: I think Shel Silverstein is trying to persuade the readers to think about the three people. At the end of the story, they left earth and never came back. What I think about the people is why did they leave earth? The poet said “Ikle me,pickle me,tickle me too,never returned to the world they knew.”


    • April 6th, 2016 at 10:11 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Neetika, when you put your mind to it your writing is beautiful! You have a lot of wonderful ideas and hidden potential. Let it shine so we all can see it! 🙂


  8. April 2nd, 2016 at 2:08 pm      Reply Sophia Says:

    I like the one because it tells you a lot of what a poem is when you don’t know what a poem. I didn’t like


  9. April 3rd, 2016 at 8:26 am      Reply Sophia Says:

    I Think that the poem means that a poem can be about what ever you want,it can be short,it can be locg,it can be used in very manny waze and,poems can real and it could be fake.


  10. April 3rd, 2016 at 8:33 am      Reply Sophia Says:

    I Think that the poem means that a poem can be about what ever you want,it can be short,it can be locg,it can be used in very manny waze and,poems can be real and it could be fake.


    • April 6th, 2016 at 10:11 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Sophia, this is an excellent reflection! I think that is one of the coolest parts about poetry. There really are no rules and you are free to express yourself as you see fit. It can be exciting and a little scary because you have all that freedom.


  11. April 3rd, 2016 at 3:24 pm      Reply Johnah Sahr Says:

    The poem was awesome. I like that it repeated and rhymed.

    I think it was a story about the 3 characters, flying in a boot and having an adventure. It ends up with them flying away. Maybe the adventure continues or ends?

    Eli, Lucy and Tessa liked the rhyming and so did I. It was silly at times.

    I wrote a poem called Baseball. I did it watching my brother at his baseball scrimmage.

    I think the poem was to entertain because of the rhyming and the silliness even my mom was giggling at it.


  12. April 3rd, 2016 at 3:42 pm      Reply Johnah Sahr Says:

    Baseball

    Players, pitchers, batters
    Catcher’s gear, baseballs, bats
    hit, catch and run the bases
    Home run, home run
    Go team Go!

    We could not open the padlet link and were unable to paste pictures in here despite trying multiple ways.


    • April 6th, 2016 at 7:34 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Johnah, I love this poem! I also appreciate all of your hard work and problem solving skills as you are learning how to use the Padlet!


  13. April 3rd, 2016 at 7:02 pm      Reply Sophia Says:

    The old man
    The old man in the shoe
    The old lady in the shoe too
    They love the shoe
    The old lady was there too
    In the shoe the two flew
    Into the sky up up to space


  14. April 3rd, 2016 at 7:06 pm      Reply Sophia Says:

    I think the poet wrote the poem to entertain you by a flying shoe (that can’t happen in real life).


  15. April 3rd, 2016 at 8:14 pm      Reply Lucca Says:

    I wrote a poem after spring break.
    http://padlet.com/spitzer/poetryquest16/wish/103801302


  16. April 4th, 2016 at 5:36 pm      Reply Maon Says:

    I like tips of word choice.


  17. April 4th, 2016 at 5:38 pm      Reply Maon Says:

    I love the tip of word choice.


  18. April 4th, 2016 at 5:45 pm      Reply Blake Says:

    I liked the port that the author thinks that the poem should read the book in a low voice.


    • April 6th, 2016 at 3:23 pm      Reply Lucca Says:

      I also liked how the author read the poem out loud. He was silly with all of his different voices. How would you read the poem out loud Blake? Would you use silly voices too?


  19. April 4th, 2016 at 6:32 pm      Reply Mason Says:

    I like the tipe of word choice.


  20. April 4th, 2016 at 6:35 pm      Reply Mason Says:

    I agree Blake it is so cool that the author reads his poem.


  21. April 4th, 2016 at 6:38 pm      Reply Mason Says:

    I think the author is trying to make people know enough thing is pasoble.


  22. April 4th, 2016 at 6:46 pm      Reply Mason Says:

    You can do anything in the world
    You can curle up
    You can do anything if you set your mind to it.


  23. April 5th, 2016 at 5:07 pm      Reply jack watts Says:

    This is awesome.


  24. April 6th, 2016 at 3:21 pm      Reply Lucca Says:

    1. Feelings —
    I liked the poem because it was funny and they were in a flying shoe. I disliked that they did not return.

    2. Meaning —
    The meaning of this poem is that Ickle Me, Pickle Me and Tickle Me too went for a ride in a flying shoe. I know this because I watched the video.

    3. Writing —
    One day there was a cat
    Who had a problem with being fat.
    He tried to hide it with a hat.
    But he was sad, and only sat.
    He needed to move to sleep on his mat.
    One day there was a cat.

    4. Purpose —
    The Author’s purpose was to entertain because they all went for a ride in a flying shoe. Who does that? It is a silly poem that rhymes and I really like it.


  25. April 6th, 2016 at 5:40 pm      Reply Shea Akagi Says:

    I liked Ickle me,Pickle me,Tickle me too because it was adventurous and funny.


  26. April 6th, 2016 at 5:43 pm      Reply Shea Akagi Says:

    The poem means anything is possible because there is no such thing as a flying shoe.


  27. April 6th, 2016 at 5:53 pm      Reply Shea Akagi Says:

    Flying Shoe

    I once went flying in a flying shoe
    it was way to windy to go flying
    STAY IN! Said the pilot
    It was warm and cozy inside the shoe,
    but stinky


  28. April 6th, 2016 at 5:57 pm      Reply Shea Akagi Says:

    I think the author wrote this poem because to entertain me because it would be very entertaining too fly in a flying shoe.


  29. April 6th, 2016 at 8:41 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

    Wow, it is nice to see that throughout the quest, students are still coming back to complete more missions! *your teacher can’t stop smiling* 🙂


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Categories

Archives



Skip to toolbar