Life in Seussey Second

Soaring to greatness by thinking great thinks!

Fractions Are Alright!

March2

“Fractions, fractions….they’re parts of a whole….”

Are you ready to jam out fraction style?! ย Please watch the following video. Afterwards please post a comment for homework that shares something you learned. Can you include detail and follow the rules of writing too?!

70 Comments to

“Fractions Are Alright!”

  1. March 2nd, 2016 at 3:29 pm      Reply Mason Says:

    i learned there is a part and whole.


  2. March 2nd, 2016 at 3:42 pm      Reply Trey Says:

    I love frachins.


  3. March 2nd, 2016 at 3:46 pm      Reply Tessa Arnott Says:

    I learned that whole’s and parts deal with fractions.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 4:11 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Tessa, I love that fractions are reminding us that parts and whole are not just in bar models. Parts and whole are everywhere in math. Great observation.


  4. March 2nd, 2016 at 3:50 pm      Reply Tessa Arnott Says:

    Mason i learned the same thing.


  5. March 2nd, 2016 at 4:32 pm      Reply Shea Says:

    Wow i didn’t know that fractions were so much fun.I learned the same thing as Mason and Tessa.How funny That me, Mason and tessa thought of the same thing.


  6. March 2nd, 2016 at 4:56 pm      Reply Cyler Says:

    cool


  7. March 2nd, 2016 at 5:03 pm      Reply Cyler Says:

    I learned 1 third is almost 1 qorter.


  8. March 2nd, 2016 at 5:24 pm      Reply Lucca Says:

    I learned that the denominator is the number on the bottom. And I learned that the fraction 1/2 is pronounced “one half” instead of one second.


  9. March 2nd, 2016 at 6:22 pm      Reply Johnah Sahr Says:

    A piece is like a slice of pizza and an uncut pizza is a whole. My mom cuts my pizza in 8 slices and my dad cuts it into 10.


  10. March 2nd, 2016 at 6:44 pm      Reply Eli McGinnis Says:

    Fractions can tell me how many pieces are shaded. For example, if a circle has 4 pieces and 1 is shaded, it’s called one fourth.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 7:54 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Eli, that is an excellent description and it is so great that you are able to put that into words. Whoot!


  11. March 2nd, 2016 at 6:48 pm      Reply Mia Says:

    I thought the video was cool. I didn’t know that fractions could be above 10. We used a chocolate pie as an example.


  12. March 2nd, 2016 at 6:55 pm      Reply Neetika Jain Says:

    Fractions are awesome!!!๐Ÿ˜‰


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 7:55 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Neetika, I would agree that fractions can be pretty cool. I would love to know what you learned from the video. How could you put that into a complete sentence or two?


      • March 3rd, 2016 at 7:20 pm      Reply Neetika Says:

        There is a numarator and a denomarator. A fraction is a shape cut into equal parts and something like this:
        1
        _

        2


  13. March 2nd, 2016 at 7:39 pm      Reply Olivia Says:

    I learned that there is a whole and a part.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 7:56 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Olivia, I love that we are making the connection that parts and whole are literally everywhere in math. How do you think bar models and fractions are similar?


  14. March 2nd, 2016 at 8:02 pm      Reply Alexis Smith Says:

    I learned that they is a whole and part.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 8:13 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Alexis, that is a great observation. I can’t wait to show the class the Fraction Exploration Google Doc tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚


  15. March 2nd, 2016 at 8:23 pm      Reply Walker Says:

    Fractions are awesome because you get to use types of your favorite foods.


  16. March 2nd, 2016 at 8:24 pm      Reply Maddy Duffy Says:

    I learned that a whole and a part are fractions!


  17. March 2nd, 2016 at 8:30 pm      Reply Daniel Says:

    I like fractions because you get shapes. I love shapes!


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 9:26 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Daniel, what a great observation. I never really even thought about that. Do you think fractions always deal with shapes or could you think of a time when a shape wouldn’t be involved?


  18. March 2nd, 2016 at 8:35 pm      Reply Ireland Says:

    Fractions have 2 numbers


  19. March 2nd, 2016 at 8:43 pm      Reply blake Says:

    I love fractions because you can you’s shaps.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 9:26 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Blake, great idea. Why do you think fractions use shapes? Why do the two go so well together?


  20. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:05 pm      Reply Lucy Says:

    I learned that the top of the fraction is called the numerator that is the part of the whole.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 10:07 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Lucy, I love your reflection about fractions and how the numerator is the art of a whole. I also appreciate that you were able to use math vocabulary. What do you know about the denominator?


  21. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:20 pm      Reply Cayden Says:

    When you have parts of a whole, fractions are what you need to know. The numerator is on top because it is “NU” for Numerator Up, and the denominator is down, because it is D for down.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 9:27 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Cayden, this is an awesome way to remember the numerator and the denominator! We will have to talk about this during our math lesson tomorrow!


  22. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:29 pm      Reply Magnus Says:

    A fraction is a part of a whole.


  23. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:37 pm      Reply caroline Says:

    I liked sing the song.


  24. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:41 pm      Reply Sophia Says:

    fractions are pretty helpful.


  25. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:44 pm      Reply Sophia Says:

    Fractions are parts like one third.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 10:05 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Sophia, I love that you were using math vocabulary to as a part of your reflection. What does the fraction one third mean?


  26. March 2nd, 2016 at 9:50 pm      Reply Casey Says:

    I like fractions, but this video wasn’t my favorite. To me, it seemed kind of slow. I understood fractions better when you taught us in the classroom. You helped me realize fractions better than the video. As I was learning about fractions I realized I had never heard the words numerator and denominator,after you taught us I knew what they meant.


    • March 2nd, 2016 at 10:05 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

      Casey, wow wonderful reflection! I appreciate your honest feedback. I am glad that the lesson in class helped you and taught you something new. So how could we make this video better? What would you add to it or how would you jazz it up?


  27. March 3rd, 2016 at 5:50 pm      Reply Jack Says:

    AWSOME!


  28. March 6th, 2017 at 6:51 pm      Reply Ava Says:

    Fractions are 2 parts that are the same width and sise.


  29. March 7th, 2017 at 8:07 am      Reply Audrey Says:

    Me to Ava!!!


  30. March 7th, 2017 at 9:03 am      Reply Eli Says:

    I learned that there is a part and a whole.


  31. March 7th, 2017 at 9:05 am      Reply Alex R Says:

    I learn that a lot of names like if you sad 1/3 that is one third.


  32. March 7th, 2017 at 10:24 am      Reply Audrey Says:

    That made me learn a lot!


  33. March 7th, 2017 at 7:07 pm      Reply Mommy B Says:

    I learned that numerator means never under.


  34. March 7th, 2017 at 7:24 pm      Reply Alex b Says:

    I learned that fractions are parts of a howl that are colored in.


  35. March 7th, 2017 at 7:42 pm      Reply Vivien Says:

    I learn that you can draw a fraction into a equal or unequal.


  36. March 7th, 2017 at 8:45 pm      Reply Madison Says:

    I learned that fractions are pretty helpful in math.


  37. March 7th, 2017 at 9:18 pm      Reply Sanjana Says:

    I did not know three thirds made a whole.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Categories

Archives



Skip to toolbar