Life in Seussey Second

Soaring to greatness by thinking great thinks!

BRRR! It is SNOW cold outside!

January6

Happy snow day tomorrow! 🙂 Oh my goodness can you believe how cold it is outside?  According to WEEK News 25 here are the current weather conditions:

weather1

This got me thinking about other places that might be this cold.  Check out what I found out about the South Pole: http://www.timeanddate.com/weather/antarctica/south-pole
WHOA! It is colder here than the South Pole.  When I visited the website the current conditions were: -9 degrees and -29 degrees windchill.  Did it change when you checked it?

I also wondered what is a wind chill?  So I headed over to Wonderopolis and look what I discovered:  http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/when-does-the-wind-chill/ 

My teacher friends on Facebook were also posting some pretty neat things to do on a snow day so I thought I would share.  Since it is so COLD be safe and ask an adult to help you.

1.) Boil a cup of water in the microwave, then throw the water outside your door and see what happens to the water.  I had to try this so check out my videos below.  How and why do you think this happened?

trim.C3E7BB5D-1123-4215-BDB9-2E764A66DA65
trim.B6A37780-AC89-4A63-9B7D-0B7AAB5A6260

2.) Make Snow Ice Cream! (If you do this please be sure to leave us a comment about the taste and if any changes need to happen in the recipe)

snowicecream

3.) Fill two ice cube trays with with water.  Put on outside and one in your freezer inside.  Which one froze faster?  Why do you think so? (leave us a comment about it)

Stay warm and snuggle up with a good book over the next few days.  Be sure to check out the Pitzer Post.  I have udapted it to take into account the snow day 1/7/14: https://sososeussey.edublogs.org/2014/01/04/the-pitzer-post-17/

by posted under Science, Wonder | 2 Comments »    
2 Comments to

“BRRR! It is SNOW cold outside!”

  1. January 6th, 2014 at 7:39 pm      Reply carter Says:

    We threw the boiling water outside. I think it turned to snow because it was so cold out but just enough to not make it turn to ice. We also made snow ice cream but used a recipe from when my mom was little. We used 8 cups of snow, 1 can of sweetened condensed milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. It was yummy!


  2. January 9th, 2014 at 3:03 pm      Reply Mrs. Pitzer Says:

    Wow Carter! Thank you so much for sharing. I love that your mom had a different recipe. I also love using sweetened condensed milk while cooking, so I can’t wait to try it this way.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Categories

Archives



Skip to toolbar